Pill Poppin’

27 May, 2012 § 2 Comments

 Saturday, 26 May 2012
For days I’ve had these two packages of pills sitting on my desk. I bought them the other day but was unsure of what to do with them. Yesterday evening, I had an idea: let’s grow them.

The time was approximately six thirty in the evening. I was tired of sorting, cleaning, organizing, lifting, carrying, and rearranging things (because those are the sorts of things I do when I’m home alone all weekend). I needed some excitement — I needed an adventure.

And then I remembered the pills. Holly and I were out running errands the other day — we visited the Asian World Market and bought about six million exotic snack foods and packs of ramen noodles, finally saw the new Hunger Games movie, and then stopped at the grocery store for some much-needed essentials. It was there, at the grocery store, that I discovered the pills: colorful, mystical, wonderful, magical pills.

What could they possibly be? What are they? How do they work? What will happen? Why? My head was filled with questions, and I refused to let them go unanswered. Three dollars and forty-four cents later, the pills were mine and it was time to find out what these babies were all about.

fig A

Which brings us to yesterday. I had the pills and I had the time. It was about six thirty, but you already knew the time. I jumbled the pills all together, picked one at random — it was red — and dropped it in a bowl, then as per the instructions on the back of the packaging I added hot water. The instructions actually said to drop the pill into the water, but then again they also depict the capsule sinking to the bottom of the glass (see figs B.1 and B.2 B.low) so I don’t think those instructions were entirely accurate.

fig B.1

fig B.2

So anyway, I took about eight thousand pictures (and one video) of the pill’s growth in the water, but those are boring. Like, incredibly boring. I’m only going to show you a few of the pictures (and one video) so that you can get the gist of what was going on. The entire growth cycle of the pill from capsule to “thing” took about twenty minutes. For the record, I did not ask an adult for help with the hot water.

Time elapsed: 0.00

This next picture was taken about six minutes in. If you expand the picture by clicking on it, you’ll notice you can actually see the plastic capsule dissolving away from the contained specimen.

Time elapsed: 5.54

Time elapsed: 11.18

Time elapsed: 15.35

So as you can see, after about fifteen and a half minutes some appendages have appeared. What could they be? What could it be? Expecting these to be the last moments of the creature’s emergence I shot a quick little video, which covers the 16.14 mark of the experiment to the 17.59 mark:

Obviously that was a waste of my time. But let’s see if I was right when I guessed it was a crab. A minute and a half later, the plastic capsule had dissolved entirely and the specimen unfolded and emerged completely. And the survey says…

Time elapsed: 19.19

Triceratops. I was close.

So there you have it, folks. Twenty minutes is all it takes for a pill to turn into a triceratops. It’s almost as though somebody intelligent designed it that way. HA HA HA HA HA.

Wait, what’s that you say? Oh, you want to know what happened with the other twenty-three pills? Did I say I was finished? No. No, I didn’t. Eight hours, two pots of coffee, and four hundred pictures later… just kidding, I tossed ’em all into a thermos, filled it with hot water, and let it sit for three hours.

No, really, that’s exactly what happened.

fig C

Time elapsed: 00:00.00

Time elapsed: 00:06.18

Time elapsed: 02:56.07

Time elapsed: 02:56.39

The thermos sat on my desk for nearly three hours (thank the designers of my Samsung Galaxy S for the precise timestamps on the pictures) before I drained it. After their extraction, I laid the specimens out on a paper towel, dried them thoroughly, and then displayed them for what I promise is the last picture in this post. Turns out the crab was green:

fig D

Since you were wondering, my awesome caffeine molecule insulated mug was purchased from Think Geek.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Pill Poppin’

  • penny1cent says:

    I’m looking forward to the period of parenthood between birth and the time your kids can actually do science experiments with you. You going to be too busy to screw around with stuff like this! Oh wait, you don’t have to do that since you’ll be mowing the lawn!

  • cinder1879 says:

    Penny1cent’s right…..they really don’t have enough $hit in their britches to do a decent job mowing until they’re at least 10-but they’ll be able to do cool sciencey stuff with you WAY before that. In the meantime, please keep the sciencey stuff coming!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pill Poppin’ at Fancy Hollywood Frogs.

meta

